Keynote Speakers

Panelist: Tracey Scarlett

Tracey Scarlett is the President of BioQuest Ventures Inc., providing consulting services for entrepreneurial companies looking to develop and expand their businesses as well as for organizations looking to build more effective and inclusive programs for innovators and entrepreneurs.

Ms. Scarlett is a Director of the Business Development Bank of Canada, and Alberta Enterprise Corporation, is a Trustee of the Sawridge First Nation Trusts, is Chair of the Board of Bredin College, and is Vice Chair of the Board of Travel Alberta. She is a past Council member of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council, is a current member of the Committee for Research Partnerships for NSERC and has held Director positions on numerous other non-profit and economic development boards including Edmonton Global, Edmonton Economic Development Corporation and Alberta Women Entrepreneurs.

Previously, she was Dean of the JR Shaw School of Business at the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (NAIT) where she established the Mawji Centre for New Venture and Student Entrepreneurship, a campus wide initiative to build entrepreneurial mindset into polytechnic education for students. As Chief Executive Officer of Alberta Women Entrepreneurs, she led development of entrepreneurship programs focused on enabling women to achieve their full entrepreneurial potential. She was also Chief Operating Officer of KMT Hepatech Inc., a biotechnology start-up spun out of the University of Alberta, and previously co-founded an electrical contracting company.

Ms. Scarlett holds a diploma in Medical Laboratory Technology from NAIT, a Bachelor of Science in Medical Laboratory Science from the University of Alberta and an MBA with a specialization in Technology Commercialization from the Alberta School of Business at the University of Alberta. Tracey has taken the Institute of Corporate Directors – Director Education Program at University of Toronto Rotman School of Management and will complete the ICD.D designation in 2019.

← View all Keynote Speakers